Return to the Retirement Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Snowbirds

Posted by qshopper (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 8, 02 at 9:17

How many of you go to warmer climates for the winter? If so, where do you go?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Snowbirds

i spend 3 weeks in ft.myers in the winter, soon as i retire, will go there for good, iam from ohio, but i live in mich. cant wait to get out of mich!

o

I'm retired but my husband isn't. I also live in Michigan and can't wait to be able to winter somewhere warm. We usually go to AZ but only for a week each winter.

o

I am a permanent resident of Florida and love it for 3 seasons. For the summer I will be in Cape Cod, Massachusetts.

Elaine in Florida

o

We are permanent residents of Arizona and don't want to be anywhere else in the winter! We get many, many winter visitors here . Some buy mobile homes and stay from October or November to April. Summers are very hot, but winters are wonderful!

o

Mamatoad, we go to Mesa and we love that area. Is it anywhere close to where you live? Our friends have a trailer and spend the winters there and we go down to visit.

o

I live in Snowbird country too. I can walk down to the Intercoastal Waterway and watch the yatchs going South for the winter. Then North when the snow melts and the South heats up.

Nice, says I, and I wish as I watch that I could afford to change my place of residence to suit the seasons. Not that I would, I just wish that I had the money so I could if I wanted to. LOL (It doesn't take much to make me happy)

o

We are living permanently in SW MO now. Some of our friends here do go south to TX for a few months in the winter. WE think the winters are so mild here, though, that we have no desire to go further south. We moved down here from Wis. 5 years ago to get away from those cold, cold winters, and are perfectly happy where we are!

o

qshopper, we are just outside the city limits of Tucson. Mesa is a great place to spend winters, also!

o