Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
la_koala

Help: What to use to seal one tile back onto wall?

la_koala
14 years ago

Hi,

My bathroom wall is tile from floor to halfway up, and then old wallpaper. I decided to take down one portion of the wallpaper to investigate what was under it. One of the small tiles at the top of the half-tile portion was loose, and the wallpaper must have been holding it up because when I started lifting up the wallpaper I had to catch the tile before it fell to the floor. :-)

There's some brown dried up crackly looking adhesive left in the place where the tile was. It looks as if the tile came out previously and reattached by the previous owner (for one thing, the tile itself has a few cracks and it looks like it broke at one point in its life and he glued the tile together and then adhered it to the wall).

How should I best reattach this tile into its place? Thinset? Krazy Glue? ;-)

It only has to last about a year or two until we really redo this bathroom.

Thanks in advance!

Comments (9)

• User
    14 years ago

In thatb case I'd use some silicon clear sealer. Least expensive (smallest amount to buy) option.

• la_koala
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks handymac! That sounds like it fits my context (smallest amount to buy) perfectly!

• macv
    14 years ago

It sounds like the tile was adhered with organic adhesive (common wall tile adhesive) so that would probably be the material to use to reinstall it.

An alternative would be an adhesive sealant but probably not silicone.

• kudzu9
    14 years ago

I recently had a similar problem with several 1" square tiles. I simply used some 2-part epoxy and it worked fine. Whatever you do, you want to:

- Clean off the old stuff from the back of the tile and from the wall. Otherwise, the repair may not hold, and the tile may also sit a little higher than the ones next to it.