Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yadax3_gw

Snow blowing into gable vents (pic)

yadax3
17 years ago

Hi and Happy New Year! I'm looking for suggestions on how to prevent snow blowing into gable vents. My sister lives in Aurora, Colorado and the recent storms there have caused water damage to her ceilings due to snow blowing into her north-facing house shown below.

My sister's insurance company pays to repair the damaged drywall, etc. (after deductible) but not to address the source of the problem.

Does anyone have any suggestions for preventing snow from blowing into my sister's vents in the future?

Thanks ever so much for any advice you can offer.

Comments (8)

• yadax3
    Original Author
    17 years ago

• diygene
    17 years ago

I'm no expert, but I think with gable vents that big and all the snow they've been having this year, you may need to temporarily board the vents up each winter. That one just above the lower roof looks especially susceptible to it.

A couple of eye hooks on each side to hold the board in place, or maybe some short pieces of 1x2 with a screw through the middle that you can rotate to horizontal. Paint the 'out' side to prevent water damage from the melting snow, and make sure it fits snugly. Of course, you need to be sure to remove them at the end of winter and replace them before the start of the next one.

• mightyanvil
    17 years ago

Closing the vents in the winter is the best idea but if that is not practical you could permanently close off the lower half of the louver panel since they appear to be greatly oversized. Adding insect screening to the upper half might help too. You could also add a pan over the insulation to catch the snow and allow it to eventually evaporate. You might even try a periscope type sloping baffle/plenum that is open to the attic at the top and drains to the outside at the bottom. That's the way it's done for louvers in large commercial structures; some are large enough to walk in.