Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fletchb_gw

How to repair drywall???

fletchb
14 years ago

Starting to remove old wall paper installed by previous owners and could not remove without damaging sheetrock/drywall.

Please take a look at my pics and tell me what is easiest way to repair? I have only worked with Spackle and never joint compound (not even sure what the difference is). I know nothing about drywall and just looking for a good fix.

There were 2 layers of wall paper and I think that was part of the problem, along with the fact I have never done this before.

Thank you,

Fletch

http://n4szo.servebbs.net/house/wallpaper/CIMG1640.JPG

http://n4szo.servebbs.net/house/wallpaper/CIMG1642.JPG

http://n4szo.servebbs.net/house/wallpaper/CIMG1643.JPG

Comments (19)

• kudzu9
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

How are you trying to remove the wallpaper? Are you dry scraping?

If you are trying to remove it with minimal damage, you should be scoring the paper, dampening it with a sponge and soapy water, and using steam from an iron or a wallpaper steamer, along with a wide-bladed joint compound knife for scraping. If these instructions aren't clear to you, I can provide more details. If you are doing proper removal, I'd like to know that.

• fletchb
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I used 3 tools from Lowes to remove the paper. It was basically a kit that they recommended.

1 the scoring tool - go over wall to cut into it for step 2.

2 Wall paper remover - spray on wait 15 min

3 scrapper tool - scrap off the wall paper (2 layers in my case).

Problem is to get both layers you also tear into the parts of the white part of the wall (gypsom ?)

Now never done this and not realizing how cheaply constructed dry wall really is, I probably went overboard.