Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jally1

Which tools - Lowes Task force? other?

jally
12 years ago

I'm a female mid-aged arthritic newb seeking buying advice re: tools for basic projects out of necessity, not hobby.

Right now, there appear to be very limited sales at Lowe's such as Task Force 38-piece ratcheting set for $5 (i never owned a ratcheting screwdriver - is it worth getting?

Also a Dewalt 75-pc drilling screwdriver set for $20.

It was given a bad review, so i'm vaccillating, since Dewalt is a good name.

Does the latter come with a reliably magnetized bit holder for use in drill chuck?

Is it worth getting?

btw, my bit holder is poorly magnetized junk from a cheap screwdriver set.

and of my drill bits, the 1st (skinniest) bit broke after drilling into a metal rod, as well as the 5th & 6th bits (out of a 13-bit set).

Is there any recommended titanium set to get as replacement, preferably including more of the skinnier bit sizes, since they seem more breakable?

Also at Lowe's are Kobalt Locking Pliers set & Groove joint pliers, $10 each set. Would those be considered necessary for basics?

Also can you recommend a good saw that's not so huge as my 28" long old-fashioned hand saw? A shrimp like myself can use a much smaller, sturdy saw.

Finally, is there any affordable, reliable wire cutters to cut wire hangers (without becoming dull quickly), and which also can cut fairly thick branches? That would be very handy for me. (I don't own a scissor sharpener)

Comments (11)

• User
    12 years ago

Do not buy multiple sets of anything except drill bits. And, buying cheap tools just means you have to buy them more often. Buy good pliers and wire cutters

Buy a hand held screwdriver with 6 different bits---or six different screwdrivers. 3 Phillips and 3 flat tip sizes. If you get the smaller bits, you can replace them singly if necessary.