Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
weed_cutter

Rot - Old Wood Vs New

weed_cutter
14 years ago

A little rant here. I do home repairs for a living. I face this situation all the time and just don't have an answer.

Why does 50 year old wood (doors, jambs, windows, siding) just seem to keep going and going. When it's finally gone if I replace it with "new" wood the stuff rots in 5 years.

I use PVC jambs and fiber cement siding whenever I can, but many times PVC isn't in the budget and fiber cement won't match the existing stuff.

Is there a place to buy "good wood"? Is there such a thing anymore? The local lumber yards carry the same quality as the box stores as far as I can tell.

I've used both latex and oil primers as well as back priming. I don't use cheap paint. Might make some difference but not much. The old stuff certainly wasn't back primed. Finger jointed trim just blows up in a year no matter what I do.

The eve overhanging the new door isn't any less than the old door either.

Thanks for listening and throw me a bone if you have one.

Comments (13)

• sierraeast
    14 years ago

Lumber back in the "good ol' days" was typically harvested from old growth lumber compared to new growth used these days. While I dont condone the timber methods back in the day, the lumber certainly was better. Also faster proocessing from the mills,ie; kiln drying, has negative effects on certain species as well.

• sombreuil_mongrel
    14 years ago

Try woods like mahogany and Spanish cedar for exterior woodwork. They seem to be the new equivalents of old white pine in terms of longevity. You still need to backprime and seal all end grain, and practice proper caulking techniques (summed up by: "always leave the water an escape at the bottom")
    Casey

• sierraeast
    14 years ago

(summed up by: "always leave the water an escape at the bottom")

Very important to have a drainage plane in many applications.

• brickeyee
    14 years ago