Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
violetwest

Annual roof inspection???

violetwest
9 years ago

When I bought my house two years ago (I'm a newbie homeowner) I was told I should have an annual roof inspection, clearning, and re-sealing of all apertures if necessary. Sounds like reasonable preventive maintenance to me, but .. .

I've been trying to get a roofer out there and am getting quotes like, $150 just to come out and look at it, and $350 if we have to "do anything to it."

Am I crazy? Are they? They only want to come out if it's already leaking?

It's a "flat" roof on a southwest style house, but it's not really flat -- it's pitched for run off to one side. And, NO I'm not getting up there myself!

Comments (13)

• User
    9 years ago

That's a perfectly reasonable quote for a time intensive job that eats up at least 1/4 of a day in travel time and work time. If your roof is new, then you wouldn't need to do that annually. Maybe every couple of years. If your roof is getting older, close to the cycle of replacement, it becomes much more important.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

did you not have a home inspection on the point of sale.. what did that dude tell you about the roof .... ????

i never lived in a flat roof house.. nor the SW ... but your story is making all the bells and whistles go off ...

i will follow along with this.. maybe i will learn something new

ken

• Vertise
    9 years ago

Is this new construction, iirc? If so, hahahahaha. If it was installed correctly, you shouldn't need that for some time. They just want to milk you.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

did you not have a home inspection on the point of sale.. what did that dude tell you about the roof .... ????

i never lived in a flat roof house.. nor the SW ... but your story is making all the bells and whistles go off ...

i will follow along with this.. maybe i will learn something new

ken

• roof35
    9 years ago

What GreenDesigns said.