Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wilsonkori

Repair: Elect Hot water heater?

wilsonkori
15 years ago

I have a Rheem Elect Hot Water heater that is about 11 years old. The hot water it puts out is not so hot anymore. I am wanting to replace the elements and possibly the thermostats too. I have never done this before. Have any of you? Any tips would be appreciated.

Comments (10)

• cloudcrasher
    15 years ago

I think you'll find the cost of the parts, isn't worth the repair. Somebody always has heaters on sale. I would get price and availability first.

• davidandkasie
    15 years ago

yep, tha told and you could have other issues as well. FIRST thing to check would be to shut off the power and water and pull the dip tube to see if it is cracked/broken. also flush it out. if it has never been flushed it may be full of crud.

the elements either work or they don't, they don't get weaker. if you have an ohm meter you can shut off power and ohm them to verify continuity. to check the stats, simply check voltage to each element. only 1 works at a time, so when the bottom shuts off the top should fire or vice versa i can never remember.

• shadetree_bob
    15 years ago

Replacing all of the parts that you mentioned would probably cost less than $100. HOWEVER, the question is----DOES AN ELEVEN YEAR OLD HEATER HAVE THAT MUCH LIFE LEFT--- and the answer is Probably not!! Considering you can replace it for from $300 to $500. Also heaters that old have a way of developing other problems (leaks) when you start disturbing them. IF this heater has been well maintained, regularly draining and replacing the rod when necessary, you may get several more good years, but if it has just been standing there with no maintenance, its life is just about over. Don't waste any money on it!

• mightyanvil
    15 years ago