Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bobbi_socal

Wall & Ceiling Crack Repairs-- Beginner How To?

bobbi_socal
17 years ago

I have some wall and ceiling cracks that need repairs for painting. One ceiling crack runs wall to wall in front of a corner, one wall crack runs down an interior corner and the other wall crack runs horizontal from the bottom edge of a window to the corner.

Are these normal types of repairs expected for a 40+ year old home? Can they be done with taping and mud? Or do I need to look for structural problems?

I'm a newbie to home repairs and can only afford my own hourly labor :-)! Is this something a novice could handle?

Thanks for your input!

Comments (6)

• kudzu9
    17 years ago

A few more pieces of info please...

Plaster or dry wall?

Straight cracks or irregular?

Textured surface or not?

• bobbi_socal
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Kudzu9 thanks for the reply! Here is more info:
    All drywall. Light texture on wall, heavy texture on ceiling. Windowsill to corner is about 3 - 3 1/2 foot.

The inside corner is straight up and down in the corner, though attaching to the horizontal crack now, hard to see in the pics, but it's there.

The horizontal crack is a bit irregular as it slopes down from the window to the corner.

The ceiling is heavy texture and very irregular.

• ericwi
    17 years ago

The photos you have posted clearly show cracks in the drywall caused by shifting, or movement, of the actual wooden structure that supports the walls and floors. Most likely, the wooden framing is moving because some portion of the foundation is sinking. Has there been an extended drought where you live? The soil can shrink and subside if it gets too dry. I am not suggesting that your house is unsafe-cracks like yours are fairly common in older homes. If you check out the basement walls, you might find some sign of movement there, as well.

• kudzu9
    17 years ago