Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wxmom

Brand of Drill- What is best?

wxmom
15 years ago

I want to buy my husband an 18V cordless drill. I'm torn between a Black and Decker Firestorm for $77 via Amazon and a DeWalt for alot more. The B&D got great reviews while the DeWalt got mixed reviews (mainly bad chuck). All his tools are DeWalt or Craftsman, so I'm afraid he won't like the B&D if I got that.

His current cordless is a DeWalt 12V- he needs more power to get into studs.

Does anyone have some advice? Go cheaper with the B&D or go with what he seems to like- the DeWalt? I'm a confused wife!

Comments (15)

• texasredhead
    15 years ago

I am a master electrician and I have been using 18V Dewalt and still do. However, I recently received a Ryobi 18V Cordless drill and light, and am very pleased with them. I use Craftman hand tools. When we are drilling a lot of studs for running romex, we use an electric Milwauke hole hog with 14" rotary bits. You need to have a good grip on this brute.

• cloudcrasher
    15 years ago

I've had a Dewalt 988 for years, without any problems. Just replaced it with the NEW Lithium version. B&D is OK for home use, but really isn't built to last. If you have a Home Depot near by, check out the Ridgid. It's a quality tool with a LIFETIME warranty on the tool along with FREE batteries.....Very hard deal to beat. NOT a fan of Ryobi at all. Depending on his POWER needs, check out the impacts, for long screws and lag bolts, they have more than enough power...but they're not really a drill. GOOD LUCK

• live_wire_oak
    15 years ago

Check out the new lithium battery powered ones and don't buy anything Ryobi. DeWalt, Makita, and Porter Cable all make good quality tools.

• bobismyuncle
    15 years ago