Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
teresatree1

How to fix this hole?

teresatree
11 years ago

photobucket.com/albums/tt137/Teresatree/Facebook/Mobile%20Uploads/417139_3335005954094_1388985399_n.jpg[/IMG]

Need to patch this hole, it has wires over the studs. Hole too big to mud, but I don't think I can drywall patch it because of the wires in front. I would appreciate your help!

Comments (39)

• millworkman
    11 years ago

How about linking the picture properly I don't think anyone will sort thru all those pictures to see your question?

• woodsy_1
    11 years ago

Here's your picture. It's not very clear and I'm no expert, but my thought is that you shouldn't patch over that wire. Wires need to go through the studs, not on the face of them. If at some point in the future a person were to put a nail in the wall at that point it will pierce the wire. The result is not fun and downright dangerous!

• User
    11 years ago

That is very dangerous to have that wire like that!!!!!!!!!!!!

Find a way to move the wire behind the stud then patch the hole.

• cas66ragtop
    11 years ago

If you can't get the wire behind the stud, you can get a piece of heavy gauge steel and nail it on the stud, covering the wire - this will prevent nails from being driven into the wire.

• stash-hdy
    11 years ago

when was the wire run and by whom ? Can the wire be removed and installed to meet code?

• sdello
    11 years ago