Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
janegael

Newie Needs Direction

JaneGael
14 years ago

We bought a fixer-upper, put up a fence, rescued some dogs and then my husband got sick - really sick - and so I'm on my own with a house that's basically a disaster. All rooms need paint, the living room has some cracks and chips to repair in the drywall first, woodwork is a nice honey-brown but filthy/stained/paint-spotted and probably junk wood put into this 1958 ranch house. It still had the original orange shag carpet when we bought it!

Carpet is up and I have bare wood floors that were supposed to be hardwood but were ruined long ago. Sigh. Still deciding what to put down with the dogs here. I also need a new roof which I hope to do in the spring and piece away at the rest of it -- but I have NO idea where to start or how to do any of the repairs.

Is there a website, or a book anyone can recommend for a complete novice trying to do a lot of this herself, with some professional help, of course.

I'm feeling really overwhelmed by it all. :(

Comments (6)

• paul21
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago