Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cathyinbothell

How to repair dry rot on ends of exposed beams?

cathyinbothell
14 years ago

My husband and I own a small A frame 30 year old cabin that is close to the water. The cabin is a typical A frame, with huge beams that support the roof and go from the inside and extend outside a few feet. We started noticing some dry rot at the end of the exposed outside beams last year, (these are about four feet off the ground) and this year it has really progressed. We can stick a screw driver in the end up to six or more inches. Should we cut the neds of these beams off and attach new wood somehow? Or should we fill the rotted ends with something and cap them or are there other options? Any advice would be appreciated,

Cathy

Comments (12)

• izzie
    14 years ago

I am no expert, just a DIY. I had some spots outside with some rot (wet rot and some dry rot) I repaired. I removed all the bad wood and let it dry for at least a few good hot dry days so any moisture was gone. I think I also sprayed it with some bleach to kill any mold spores, I think you can use borax solution also. Applied wood hardener (minwax makes some)it makes the wood harder if it is a bit soft. Then used wood filler (not wood putty) It drys pretty hard. Then I primed and painted it. Its been a few years since the repair and it seems to be holding up. I probably should have sanding it a bit more where I used it but it's not in a area really seen.

• kudzu9
    14 years ago

Do these ends stick out beyond the roof line so that they are exposed directly to the elements? And is any of the damaged stuff structural (meaning the rotted area is directly supporting something)?

• macv
    14 years ago

Can't say without a photo.

• alphonse
    14 years ago

Whatever your solution, be advised that dry rot needs complete removal lest it begin anew on any wood attachment.