Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dave2007

Pinning Sidewalk to Foundation

dave2007
11 years ago

I'm replacing the sidewalk along one side of the house and am getting conflicting recommendations from contractors.

So far three bids want to pin the new pour to the foundation with steel rod and one adamantly opposes the idea. The house is 1914 construction on a cement block foundation and not poured concrete foundation.

What are the recommendations here?

Comments (9)

• handymac
    11 years ago

I am not a concrete expert, or even a concrete worker, so my opinion is based on logic and some experience with seeing how concrete ages over the 50 or so years I have paid attention to that sort of thing.

I really don't see the point in pinning to the foundation. When---not if---the side walk begins to move, the pinning will create stress points and the sidewalk will probably crack at the pin points.

My logic says pinning into concrete block is not a secure anchor to start.

• lbpod
    11 years ago

And, worst case scenario, it may eventually crack your
    foundation.

• don92
    11 years ago

A ledger on the foundation might be the way to go. It would keep the sidewalk at the right height to the foundation and give it the flexibility of moving in and out. Angle iron bolted to the foundation would work as the ledger

• dave2007
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the input. I agree that leaving the foundation intact is a good idea.

We're going to go with the bid that will avoid putting things into the foundation blocks. The contractor does good work and had good response from references.

• brickeyee
    11 years ago

A ledger without adequate fastening is going to have the same issues as pinning.

Concentrated point loads that could lead to cracking and failure of the foundation.

This is one of those things that calls for a LOT of smaller rated fasteners to distribute the load.

• don92
    11 years ago