Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cathy_in_pa

Removing Caulk Is Removing Grout

Cathy_in_PA
14 years ago

I tried to remove the caulk where the tub meets the tile, and it pulled out the grout with the caulk. I stopped after the first tile. This caulk isn't flexible, almost chips off and has somehow bonded to the grout. Is there some type of solvent that would soften the caulk while leaving the grout undamaged?

I would like to say that the previous owner did this caulking job, but it was me. Although it's been a couple of years, I thought the tube just said tub/shower caulking, but my goodness!

Thanks for any sharing any advice or guidance. I hate it when what I think will be a relatively quick job turns into a learning experience.

Cathy in SWPA

Comments (8)

• Cathy_in_PA
    Original Author
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

"Was the grout between the tile and the tub?"

Yes, where the base of tile meets the tub. I wondered about that. I have limited experience, but can't recall ever seeing that before.

Many thanks for the advice, Brickeyee. This is going to take more time than I anticipated.

Take care -- Cathy

• macv
    14 years ago

Any grout between the tile and tub should be removed so pull it out with the old sealant and re seal the joint with the most expensive 100% silicone sealant you can find, not just tile and tub caulk.

It is necessary to thoroughly remove all of the original silicone in order for the new silicone to stick. Unfortunately that is extremely difficult.

Here are some suggestions from GE:

"It is VERY difficult to remove silicone from a surface. However, if you must remove it, follow the suggestions below.
    To remove silicone sealant from surfaces, first remove as much as possible by cutting/peeling/scraping excess sealant from surface.