Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bibbo_gw

bad drywall leads to bad mudding

bibbo
16 years ago

Need help.

So after knocking down a wall, reframing it, and then putting drywall up I have found out that my joints did not match.

This is my first time at this, and mudding is an art form and I am not good.

So now I have a dip from the old plaster to the new dry wall of about 1/4 inch.

WHAT IS THE BEST WAY TO MAKE THIS WHOLE SECTION SMOOTH.

Do I have to keep on back filling till one side is as high as the other? My mud was too thick before and I was going to thin it out to get the consistency of pudding I am told.

TO FIX THIS DEPRESSION IS IT BETTER TO HAVE THICK OR THIN MUD?

thanks

jack

Comments (7)

• brickeyee
    16 years ago

Use setting type joint compound (Easysand) and mix it about as thick as peanut butter.
    Pre-mix mud hardens by drying and has significant shrinkage.
    Setting compounds harden by chemical reaction, and if mixed thick will have minimal shrinkage even if applied in thick layers.

• bibbo
    Original Author
    16 years ago

"Use setting type joint compound (Easysand)"

Is there a brand I should look for? Or anything I should look for to know that I have the right stuff.

So if I understand correctly, I should fill the "dip " with "setting type joint compound" because it will not shrink. Then go over it all with a thin coat of pre-mix.

What is the dry time of the "setting type joint compound"

sorry for my ignorance. I'm learning.

jack

• brickeyee
    16 years ago

Easysand is one brand of setting compound.
    It is available in a number of set times, indicated on the bag by the umber following the name.
    Easysand20, Easysand45, etc.
    The number is the approximate setting time in minutes, but like any plaster product is is only a rough guide.
    GO for the largest number you can find (often 90, but longer is made).

You can top with premix or more setting compound.
    I never use premix for anything any more.