Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
toni1025

Is this concrete driveway ready for pour

Toni1025
9 years ago

Contractor says they are pouring my 6 inch driveway tomorrow. His forms are 2x4s. I would think you would need 2x6s for a six in driveway. Also, should all those big pieces of broken concrete still be in there? I have heard nothing bigger than your fist. But my main concern is the soft soil against my foundation. I don't think it's been tamped at all. I've never had a water problem or foundation problem. This is my biggest concern. Any help would be appreciated, as my gut is telling me to have him just STOP now.

Comments (12)

• greg_2010
    9 years ago

Basic math says that you can't pour 6 inches into a container that's only 4 inches deep. Unless the 2x4s are actually 2 inches up from the bottom.

But I'm no expert.

I also think that rebar is a good idea. Maybe not required, but it helps protect against cracking.

• Toni1025
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Agreed. Not reinforcing with rebar, which is why the 6 inches is so important. Thank you.

• millworkman
    9 years ago

Should be some sort of reinforcing I would think 6x6 10/10 wire-mesh would be the correct thing for a driveway

• kudzu9
    9 years ago

If you are going to pay for the concrete needed for a 6" deep driveway pour, don't cheap out: reinforce it with rebar (my preference) or mesh. It's a simple rectangle, nothing complicated: you should be able to cut the rebar and wire it together in a lot less than a day.

• sunnyca_gw
    9 years ago

Why are the stakes inside the 2x4's & not outside. Concrete will have uneven area where each of those are & isn't this going to the garage?

• millworkman
    9 years ago

Are you sure this guy is a masonry contractor? Seems like he really does not know what he is doing....

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    9 years ago