Return to the Home Repair Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Vinyl fence posts - cement or not?

Posted by hrajotte (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 5, 09 at 9:46

I am getting quotes for a new vinyl fence (6' tall x 8' wide privacy panels.)
Most installers' quotes indicate they cement the posts for vinyl fences. One installer uses a pressure treated wood insert inside the hollow vinyl posts. He only cements if he cannot get the post holes deep enough, or at customer request.
Seeking comments pro or con for cementing. His cost for cementing is negligible, basically the cost of the cement. I'm in Massachusetts, if climate is a factor.
TIA

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Vinyl fence posts - cement or not?

I am not a professional but I have watched installers put in vinyl fencing. Every time they started a job they would put cement around the posts. If they had treated wood inside the posts I am not sure. They would set the posts in concrete one day then come back the next to finish the job. My job position at the time required me to go out and monitor jobs from time to time. I can honestly tell you that we never had a complaint about one of our fence installs. So in my opinion I would say go with the cement. As far as the climate I am not sure. I live in Louisiana so I am sure your climate is different than mine.

o

All vinyl fence manufacturers of which I am aware require a wood post (usually 'treated' or natural resistant to rot lumber like cedar or redwood) to be installed inside the vinyl 'sleeve'.

All require posts to be 'concreted' into place or permit a 'modified' type stone or gravel base(walnut sized stone with fine stone dust) tamped into place.

NO legitimate fence installer would suggest a wood post insert is an 'option'.

NO legitimate fence installer would suggest concrete or 'modified' stone an 'option' for post placement.