Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shw001_gw

Oscilating Tools (Fein Multimaster, Dremmel, Rockwell)

shw001
14 years ago

I've seen the Fein and Rockwell models on TV and the Dremmel version in a bix box store. These tools do a variety of tasks, like cutting in close spaces, sanding, grinding, etc.

Are these tools any good? Do they really work as well as claimed?

Are the Dremmel and Rockwell models as good as the Fein (which is 2-3 times the price)?

How are they for sanding, cutting metal, cutting hardwood?

Comments (12)

• sequoia_2007
    14 years ago

I have a Fein Multimaster and it is a well-built tool that has allowed me to do things no other tool could accomplish. That being said, the cost for replacement blades is obscene. It is my tool of choice for cutting openings in drywall accurately and the cutting produces very little dust. Otherwise, except for cutting drywall, I reserve the use the Fein Multimaster for those very specialized situations only it can do.

Here are some articles you might find helpful:

Dremel Multi-Max Oscillating Tool, Bosch PS50 Oscillating Tool - Review

Fein MultiMaster 250Q Top - Review

• shw001
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks much Sequoia. Those sources are fantastic.

I am now between Dremmel and Rockwell. The word is that Rockwell is sturdier and uses better blades than Dremmel, though only $20 more than Dremmel. The advantage of Dremmel is that they are distributed widely and it is easier to get aupplies/parts or repairs. Although for occational use the extra quality of the Rockwell will probably not make much difference.

• sevenecho
    14 years ago

The Fein is an awesome tool, but geared toward the pro market. If you are using tools to make a living this is the one lots of guys use. Blades are much more affordable at multiblades.com That being said, you can get several of the homeowner/hobby machines for the cost of one Fein.