Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tkneo

Concrete for setting posts is overrated

Tarun Kapoor
9 years ago

I am a newbie to building fence. I read up on a lot of forums over the internet to figure out which posts can resist rot and what is the best way to set up posts and the majority of the content believes that posts should be set in concrete.

Attached is the picture of treated posts that i took out. These old posts were set in the ground without gravel, cement or anything else. The posts had been touching dirt for 10+ years .The property was so badly maintained that all the water always drained towards the posts. Despite all this, I see no rot.

Before i knew demolished the old fence i moved the posts around with my hands and they were so stable that i would have bet they are set in concrete. So, the stability argument for concrete isnt as promising as people make it to be.

Just thought i'd share this experience.

Comments (10)

• SaltiDawg
    9 years ago

I used Locust Fence Posts when I erected my split rail fence nearly 20 years ago. No sign of any rot with the posts so far. Rails have seen their share of rot.

Locust is VERY hard wood.

This post was edited by saltidawg on Wed, Jul 23, 14 at 17:29

• dkenny
    9 years ago

other than for corner posts or gate posts..
    yep cement isn't needed..
    the cement for the corner posts or gate posts help with the side loading in the soil. helps keep the post upright against the load..
    otherwise the cement traps water and promotes rot

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    9 years ago

I don't believe in concrete footings for posts. Give me well drained gravel any day.

• kudzu9
    9 years ago

Some soil is better than others for setting posts without concrete. I've always used pressure-treated posts set in concrete, but add about 4" of pea gravel or drain rock at the bottom for the post to rest on and allow drainage. I also slope the top of the concrete pour on all sides. Never had a problem.

• Tarun Kapoor