Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ljbrandt

Moisture damage to siding and face boards

ljbrandt
13 years ago

First time homeowner in need of advice. I have some siding that appears to have some water/moisture damage and I'm not sure what to do about it. In fact, I don't even know what kind of siding I have! It seems to be some type of pressed wood material. It isn't getting worse from what I can tell, but it sure is an eyesore! Also, I have some face boards that are starting to rot...since I'm a newbie at all this, ho concerned do I need to be and how difficult a DIY project is this to replace? Pics below:

{{gwi:300358}}

Comments (9)

• User
    13 years ago

If that were my house, I would replace all of that material. It will be a problem. Only question is when. What I see is the definite beginning of the destruction of the material.

As far as DIY, if you have no experience at all, this is not the place to start alone. Replacing the material behind the gutters will require removing the gutters. Which is at the least a two man job, with three a better idea.

The fascia(the part behind the gutters) looks to be a two piece construction. There needs to be a drip edge installed on the top of the piece meeting the shingles. That can be done without removing the shingles. Having at least two people on that job is necessary.

Tearing off the old siding can be easily DIY. Replacing it can also be DIY, depending on what is used as new siding. I have installed siding (vinyl) by myself. I have seen Hardiplank siding methods for one person, but did not ever try any. Always used two or more people.

• ljbrandt
    Original Author
    13 years ago