Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thumbster

magnovox 47' lcd tv problems..please help.

thumbster
14 years ago

My model # 47mf437b/37 was working fine earlier today. now the red power button stays on. if you click it to turn on the tv then the picture comes up for a split second then the tv turns itself off. i called around to some tv places. wow expensive. i'm a laid off carpenter and if anyone could help me with this i would be grateful...i've tried unplugging it and letting it sit. then i looked at the on off button to make sure it wasn't stuck.....please help....

Comments (9)

• maryland_irisman
    14 years ago

Are you at all familiar how to test and replace components on a circuit board?

• thumbster
    Original Author
    14 years ago

have a little experience with circuit boards. do you think you know what it is? anyhelp would be much appreciated...thanks

• jonnyp
    14 years ago

More than likely it is capacitor failure. A problem that is wide spread, not just TVs. Lay the tv face down on a flat surface and open the back. Id the power supply , its where the power cord attaches. On this board you will see a series of cylindrical components. These usually have an x scribed in the top, if the top of the capacitor is bulging and the x has opened up or it is oozing brown crap, you have found your problem.There are couple of reasons 1) component of poor quality 2) component undersized, voltage rating to low.
    There several resources on the web to guide you through this. I recently had a similar problem with a Samsung , one of the highest rated models 2 months out of warranty. I was surprised at the number of people having the same problem.The components and boards that compromise these sets are not necessarily the maker whose name is on the set. Google the problem and check You Tube.