Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ms_minnamouse

What glass cutter?

ms_minnamouse
15 years ago

I wasn't really sure where to post this but I figured there must be some handy people in here.

The glass cuttings tool I have sucks. It doesn't cut glass very well and it makes it very difficult. Can you recommend one? Or, in general, what kind should I be looking for? And can you also use it on plexi-glass and acrylic (same thing?)? If you can't what's a tool that will make cuttings that easier? Thanks.

Comments (8)

• maryland_irisman
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I do stained glass projects as a hobby, at least one project a month. The cuts require a cutter that will cut precisely on curves as well as straight lines. I use a Fletcher glass cutter....green with a silver or gold top. I've been using the same one for several years and it still works great. I have a diamond tipped one but like the Fletcher better. It is imperative to keep the cutting wheels oiled (and the diamond tipped one also). Get a glass jar with a lid. Put about a 1/2 inch of lamp oil in it and store the glass cutter, wheel down, in it. Try that on your old one and it might do better for you. If you are doing a lot of cutting, dip the tip in the oil every few cuts. I bought a cheap Red Devil cutter from the hardware store just to see how it would work and using the above process, it worked out well.

Technique also plays a big part in keeping the cutter in good shape. NEVER go back onto a score in the glass with the cutter, it will certainly dull the wheel quickly, even a diamond tipped one.

I hope this helps!!!

• ventupete
    14 years ago