Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jerry_nj

Any easy upgrade for formica countertop?

jerry_nj
15 years ago

I have a vanity in the master bedroom that is about 25 years old. It has a single sink and formica counter-top, both are in good condition, but a bit dated, 25 years old.

I can, of course, replace the cabinet, counter/cabinet and sink, but wonder if there is some update/upgrade that can be done that is easier and lower cost...e.g., how about using ceramic tile on top of the formica? Will the adhesive hold on formica? Is there some other material I can put on top of the existing formica? Can I just put new formica over the existing formica?

Comments (9)

• mal5898
    15 years ago

Jerry...Had the same problem as you with an older home. Esily recovered countertop in new formica. Huge choice of colors and finishes available. Total cost for materials was @$100.00 and a day of my labor. Looks wonderful! Mark in Buffalo

• jerry_nj
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Mark,

Thanks, did you have to put down a new counter, or did you put the new formica over the old? My application can stand the extra 1/4" or whatever the thickness is. Still, the way the counter fits in the vanity area, between the wall to the bathroom and the wall to the walk-in closet. The only way I can trim is to pull the counter and work on it out in the open. That may be the standard process. This may be the bigger part of the job...I'll take a look at how the counter is attached, maybe it is just attached to the cabinet underneath and to the wall on one side where the cabinet is just a horizontal drawer.

• mal5898
    15 years ago