Return to the Remodeling Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Type of door for pocket installation

Posted by mikect05 (My Page) on
Sat, Dec 3, 11 at 11:59

Hello,
I am currently working on a complete remodel of our main bathroom. We have decided to install a Johnson pocket door so that we can include everything in the bathroom that we want and not have the door interfere with either the shower door or the linen closet door.
I am wondering what type of door I should use for this type of installation. Would I be better off with a heavier sold core door, or a lighter door. Does anyone have experience with one or the other?
This door will be used alot, and by children. I am wondering if the heavier door will open and close easy enough or if a lighter door will slide open to easily and bang. I would appreciate any info, because I have no experience with this type of door.
Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Type of door for pocket installation

Okay after doing more research I have come up with that it is definitely better to have a heavier solid door.
Now I have a new question- Are they easy to open and close with the latch, or would it be better to add a few inches to the door opening and install the door so it doesn't go fully into the pocket, that way there will always be a couple of inches of the door to grab and pull closed easier?

o

A pocket door is designed to be used rarely and with a bit more effort since it doesn't have an easily grabbed handle. A door that does not go all the way into the pocket is better for a frequently used pocket door but the opening and the door must be larger. It can have a pull handle on both faces of the door but such pocket doors usually bounce back when opened or closed quickly and they can hurt fingers. They are also difficult to latch closed for privacy. A pocket door really isn't a good solution if used frequently or privacy is an issue.

A double-swing pivot door might be a possibility.