Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bobby1973_gw

Mortar Cracking Connecting Tread to Porch

bobby1973
9 years ago

Hi folks, last Spring I hired a hardscaping contractor to install a new set of steps leading to my front porch. I just recently began noticing cracking the mortar which connects the top bluestone tread to the concrete porch. I'm attaching two photos for reference which I just took yesterday. The cracking seems to extend across the length of the top tread where it meets the porch. I'm not an expert with this stuff at all, but my concern is whether rainfall that falls into that crack will compromise the structural integrity of the steps? I greatly appreciate any feedback and opinions that you could kindly share with me. This way, when I approach the contractor I'll be more knowledgeable about what exactly is occurring and what could potentially occur if the problem is not fixed - just in case he tries to downplay it. Thank you folks!
bobby

Comments (10)

• sombreuil_mongrel
    9 years ago

This is a joint for sealant, not grout/mortar.
    It is a continual source of movement.
    Casey

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    9 years ago

Mortar never "connects" anything; it isn't glue. It is a bed upon which other things are set. Grout acts the same.

You need a flexible sealant such as polyurethane or silicone caulk in this application and because it's a change in plane.

• geoffrey_b
    9 years ago

The installer did not follow the TCNA (tile council of North America) guidelines. Any time you have a change in plane - the joint should be caulked.

Have him come back, remove the grout from the joint and install a 100% silicone caulk.

• sombreuil_mongrel
    9 years ago

Silicone is not recommended for cement because it gives off acetic acid as it cures and that will not bond.
    Use a specific sealer for masonry expansion joints.

Here is a link that might be useful: Sealant for Masonry

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    9 years ago