Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kat123_gw

Porcelin Tile just installed & I need help!

kat123
17 years ago

Please help! We purchased beautiful porcelin subway tile from Walker Zanger for our kitchen backsplash. The GC's tile guy just installed it today. We think it looks terrible. Some of the ends are chipped. The GC said that is the nature of porcelin tile when it is cut to fit odd areas, but we're not buying into that nonsense! Is he right about this? The GC raves about how good the tile guy is, but we do not agree. He claims his tile guy used a brand new blade to cut the tile.

Is chipping normal for porcelin tile that had to be cut in some places so it would fit? Thanks so much.

Comments (8)

• kaatluvr
    17 years ago

I am not an expert, but we have done quite a bit of tiling ourselves. When cutting tile, the "cut" edge is not absolutely perfect like the factory-finished edge. However, I can't think of an instance when the cut edge would be anywhere other than the outside edge of your tiling project. When the cut edge is on the outside, with the grout, it should pretty much disappear. If your installer has put the "cut" edge next to a factory finished edge, in my opinion this was done incorrectly. Hope this helps.

• bill_vincent
    17 years ago

I have a feeling that the installer may have a "porcelain" blade on the saw (sometimes known as a "hotdog" blade). It's very easy to tell, because it has thin slots in the blade to help cool it. The problem is that it also leaves a little more of a chipped cut. If this is a heavy duty porcelain that he's using, this is almost unavoidable. But if it's a normal porcelain, a regular blade can be used, giving you an almost chipless cut.

• ttfweb
    17 years ago

I cut 200 sq ft of porcelain tile in our bathroom, and everyone nneded to be cut - we had no chipping. I am wondering about the quality of your tile...

• saritafl
    17 years ago