Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
seiyafan

Insulation on attic ceiling or floor?

seiyafan
10 years ago

I am looking to add more insulation to the attic, currently there are two options from the contractors I've talked to, some recommend air seal the attic floor and thicken the existing insulation, others recommend spray foam the attic ceiling which would take care the air seal and insulation in one shot. Now, I don't plan on adding HVAC on the attic in the future, so what are the pros and cons to ventilated and unventilated attic? Or should I just go with whichever the cost is lower.

Comments (4)

• mag77
    10 years ago

Short story. I'd go with air-sealing the attic floor and more blow-in insulation. Make sure the air-sealing is done well - it's important.

Long story. Both methods work, but whether to vent or not is a topic that causes arguments, even among experts (and I'm not an expert). I go with the conventional approach because you'll get payback within your lifetime and it's straight-forward work any insulation contractor can do. That said, there doesn't seem to be any doubt unvented attics are the Rolls Royce of attic insulation, but they're expensive, difficult to very difficult to implement if the roof isn't simple (dormers, hips, valleys, etc), and require knowledgeable, conscientious installers.

• Bruce in Northern Virginia
    10 years ago

Some of the answer depends on where you are locatedl=.
    - If you air seal and add insulation to the attic floor, and then increase the attic ventilation as much as possible (for example, continuous soffit vents and a ridge vent) it will be the most effective for a hot climate where you are trying to reduce heat gain from the sun. You are effectively creating a vented umbrella over the house and keeping most of the heat away.