Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mygardenweb

Will a Sunroom off sunny kitchen make kitchen dark?

MyGardenWeb
12 years ago

I posted separately in Kitchen forum about all my kitchen remodel questions. Recently decided I want to plan for a sunroom off the back (east) wall of the house. First remodel and enlarge kitchen, then add a beautiful 3 season sunroom. My present kitchen, although tiny and shabby and crowded, is in a wonderfully sunny and bright east location. I was thinking of attaching sunroom here, with sliders or french doors to increase living space in the home. But will it prevent the east morning sun from shining into my remodeled kitchen? Should sunroom not be placed here? I will cross post this into my kitchen thread too.

Comments (11)

• doug_gb
    12 years ago

I have a lot of experience with 'bolt on' sunrooms, IMO they are a monstrosity and add NO value to your home.

Sounds like you like your kitchen. Spend the money to get the kitchen enlarged the proper way, this will add value to your home when you sell it.

History: My wife once sold custom window fashions, and blinds of all kinds. I installed a goodly number of them in quite a few sunrooms. Most of the clients were 55+ After building the sunroom, they were surprised to find out that quality blinds cost somewhere about $1500 - $2000 even more for some woven woods. It gets real expensive to cover a sliding door. Some needed heat pumps to keep it warm/cool.

It was difficult to mount the blinds, no thought was given about that in the design.

Then the people no longer used their living room!

IMO it's a horrible idea / product

• GreenDesigns
    12 years ago