Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marthastoo

Feedback on kitchen plans - island too tight?

marthastoo
10 years ago

Hello all - after reading for a bit, I decided to take the plunge, join, and ask some advice. We are currently in the planning stage of a kitchen remodel, but will have to make a decision in the next week. We are most likely going to use an Amish cabinet maker, so everything can be customized to fit. The kitchen is 14'2" x 21'1" and I really want this island seating to work. What do you think - too tight?

Also, I realize I am no kitchen designer, but I was trying to make the cabinets fit with 2 mullioned cabinets by the window. If I do, the sizes are just off. I was up 'til midnight last night trying to get the numbers to work. Do you think I have too many skinny wall cabinets?

TIA! (I just realized that the diagram is really hard to read. Sorry!)

Comments (8)

• annzgw
    10 years ago

Ya, I agree about posting on the kitchen forum. In addition to what kirkhall pointed out, my concern with the location of the seating is that access to the frig and ovens may be hampered by people sitting there.

Double check your measurements since I noticed that if you add the depth of your microwave drawer (which is ~24" deep) plus the overhang of 15", it doesn't add up to the 36" depth of the island .
    When calculating distance between cabinets and island, be sure to allow for the overhang of the counter top.

Also, revisit the cabinet between the frig and the double oven. One of my previous homes had a kitchen with a similar layout and I found it to be a total waste of space and not usable for anything. If you're going to make it a coffee area that will probably work, but IMO it can't be used for much else.

Maybe it's just me, but I found it difficult to read the measurements on most of the diagram. Are you able to enlarge it or post with a higher resolution?

• marthastoo
    Original Author
    10 years ago