Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eastsider_gw

How did you finalize your contract with your GC for remodel?

eastsider
17 years ago

Hi,

We've found a builder we really like, and are now in the contract process. How did others come to an agreement on the final contract? Was this just between you and your GC? We're having an attorney review our contract, and hoping he'll give us suggestions. But we're wondering how other people came to a decision that was fair to both builder and owner. Any input will be appreciated--thanks!

Comments (9)

• igloochic
    17 years ago

I'm in exactly the same position as you. We're working up the details and plan on signing next week. We will also do an attorney review, and will make revisions in terms of adding monetary penalties associated with performance dates, but other than that, we've seen his preliminary contract format and are pretty comfy.

Both my husband and I write contracts for a living in one shape or another, so that does help the process. My top priority is defination of the who's and what's involved (we're spelling it out very specifically, room by room, item by item) and making sure that the change process is clearly defined (change orders required on any work/item over $500 or any combination of items equaling that amount with signatures required by all parties).

What I've seen to be the biggest issue is the "surprise" bills at the end that people complain about. I hear folks say, "We started with a basement carpet change and then added three bathrooms and a kitchen and it cost more!!! Why didn't our contracter/brother in law tell us it would cost more than $3.00????" For both the contractor and the home owner, spelling out the change order process, and requiring signatures and new agreements for anything but emergencies (which must also be defined) is a MUST.

• eastsider
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Wow Igloochic--your life sounds a lot like mine!