Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maureen9004

Bathroom Remodel Advice

maureen9004
14 years ago

My husband and I just bought our first place and while most of it is updated- the bathrooms could definitely use some work. Currently there is laminate on the floor which will be fairly easy to remove and replace with tile. The task that is a little more daunting is replacing the bathtub and surround...

Currently it is a beige tub and surround system. We want to replace both but can't decide whether or not I should purchase another surround or tile the area myself (My husband is a Naval officer so I'm on my own on most of the projects and am fairly handy). Anyone have any advice? Would replacing the surround with tile be really expensive?

I was planning on visiting lowes to purchase the tub/surround/new vanity and was hoping to have them install them. Any advice would be appreciated because I'm a bit of a novice

Comments (5)

• homebound
    14 years ago

Unfortunately it's a bigger job than you might think. When you replace the tub, you essentially have to rip up the tile near it, which ends up leading to gutting the walls, etc. and doing it all over.

But if you left the tub alone, then you could rip out the surround and replace with a new affordable one, leaving the tub to just be refinished ($350 or so to refinish). Swan makes some 3- and 5-piece surrounds that might work. (BTW, if you went with "ReB@th", it would probably run 4-5k (they don't do ballpark quotes at all until you have an appointment). Maybe that's the way to go to leave the tile. Their appts. are free. Good luck.

• maureen9004
    Original Author
    14 years ago

thank you for the advice.. you're right- I was a little delusional (I thought it'd be a wam bam done kind of job). Instead we're looking into refinishing the bath tub are (I had no idea this was an option). Again.. thank you. You saved us a lot of money and time.

• firstmmo
    14 years ago