Return to the Remodeling Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Drywall Compounds - Pre-mixed or Powder

Posted by barbcollins (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 18, 10 at 22:26

Which do you think is better.

In the past I have always used premixed. But I never did big jobs so the unused portions got ruined (Hardened or got lumps/chunks).

With my current project I tried the easy sand. I liked it but it's kind of a pain, because of having to mix it in small batches (I am not a pro, so I don't try to do too much at a time) and cleaning out the bucket each time.

Is there any real benefit to using one or the other?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Drywall Compounds - Pre-mixed or Powder

I use 40 and 5 in a 2/1 ratio mixed in the mud pan. A quick rinse in a 5gal pail of water and you are ready.
I also use food coloring to keep track of the different coats.

o

The bucket stuff works by drying out and the powder stuff sets up like concrete does. You can recoat the powder stuff a multiple of times in the same day.

o

>>Posted by snoonyb (My Page) on Thu, Mar 18, 10 at 22:53
>>I use 40 and 5 in a 2/1 ratio mixed in the mud pan. A
>>quick rinse in a 5gal pail of water and you are ready.
>>I also use food coloring to keep track of the different
>>coats."

I think my problem was I got 20 (was a little too optimistic about my abilities). I had to do in small batches or it would set up in the pan. I was thinking of getting 90 this time. Great tip about the food coloring.

o

If you are not very experienced use the 240.

Setting is great for smaller jobs since you can use 20 minute compound and get multiple layers done in a single day, instead of having to return day after day with premixed mud.

Durabond is just as hard as real lime plaster, so make sure you now how to use it before trying.
Sanding it is almost impossible.

Easysand can be sanded if required, but the down side is a softer material that is more easily damaged.

o
reRE: Drywall Compounds - Pre-mixed or Powder