Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
splitrock_gw

dropped by second insurance company

splitrock
12 years ago

We had two claims on our homeowner's insrance policy, (the second one a very large claim), within 3 years. State Farm dropped us, then Farm Bureau dropped us after only a few weeks, because they recieved a report from State Farm. We had told the Farm Bureau agent everything, but for some reason they said they would insure us, then cancelled three weeks later.

Does anyone know of a company that is mot too picky about whom they insure? The house has been completely repaired and is in very good condition.

Comments (6)

• worthy
    12 years ago

Try an independent insurance broker.

• Jumpilotmdm
    12 years ago

File a complaint with your state's insurance dept. and get those money sucking bastards to cover you. Making claims should not make you un-coverable unless you're an obvious fraud.

• lynn_r_ct
    12 years ago

I was an independent agent years ago before I became a SAHM so I know how the system works. Any agency you call is only as good as the companies they represent. No point in complaining to the insurance commissioner. Companies decide who they accept as customers and that is their right. Be aware there is an organization called CLUE (Comprehensive Loss Underwriting Exchange)which has records of any homeowner claims anyone has filed. It is similar to the DMV opening up our driving records to auto insurers, so you have to be honest. Although you fixed everything, companies see you as someone that files claims and therefor is a risk for them. Mumbo jumbo I know but that is the way it is.