Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mskitty31

Rant about remodeling!

MsKitty31
11 years ago

This is my first time on the Home Forum. I apologize in advance if this post is not where it should be. It is about remodeling so I placed it here. I need to vent and I really hope people can share their stories or at least give me some insight and possibly hope here.

We live in an older home - 1940s. It used to be a mining community here. Many of the houses that were put up, including ours, in this little community were put up fast for workers (aka renters) so the finish work - drywall, mudding, etc. wasn't always done properly based on what I have gleaned from the internet and other forum members. I wouldn't be surprised if the insulation (due to home age and workmanship) isn't great either - I know many people with older homes deal with this anyway.

I have tried to be a DIYourselfer. I was really gungho(?) about redoing our bedroom which we did. Ripped the wallpaper down, woodwork off, refinished the wood floors, etc. - did not rip the drywall down and replace though. When it was all said and done and now roughly a year later I am discovering (visually seeing them) or learning (from the internet) things that we didn't do right or things that were done before us that were not done properly. I have tried to repair some like patch painting only to have flashing now on the walls...yay! I literally cried when I discovered some of these errors because in my mind when we were finished (before I knew the error of my ways) I was psychologically happy with this room and proud of ourselves for our big undertaking of fixing it. Now, with the knowledge I have gained I want to rip it all down again and restart. I REALLY think ignorance is bliss!!!!