Return to the Remodeling Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Thoughts on Modernizing a 1963 Two-Storey

Posted by worthy (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 26, 10 at 21:43

What have I done?

One minute I'm out looking for a buildable lot. I am a builder, after all. And that's what we do. The next thing I know I've picked up this C$1.2 million dollar fixer-upper on a half acre court a couple hundred yards north of Toronto.

4 sc
"1963 One Owner." Aging Home Needs Updating

We're moving in and will play it by ear. Including attempting to market a pre-build sale from plans, as I've done before. If it doesn't fly, at the most you've blown a few thousand dollars on a concept and a floor plan.

After the obvious--refinished floors and new paint--the way ahead is not so clear. Except the absurd shutters have to go!

Any thoughts much appreciated.

I'll be posting pics after I get possession in a couple of months. Wish me luck! (And no meltdowns in the roaring housing market here.)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Thoughts on Modernizing a 1963 Two-Storey

Why update? It would be cheaper to put a Chevy 409 SS in the driveway and buy some skinny ties and a lava lamp.

o

Hey you! Hands off my 409!

Cool!

I like it! Full-on baby boom retro. JFK is king. Marilyn's cooing. Elvis is still in the house.

But in an upper income neighbourhood as bland as bland can be, where adolescent dreams have long been surrendered for golf club memberships and an SUV and a Merc in the driveway. Bound to be a big seller!

o

You want upscale?
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

o

The Jag is rad but the chebby would be mucho bueno out here in the west...lowered, candy apple red, lights in the wheel wells, dingle balls abounding with red,white, and green stripes for the upholstery. Dont forget the hydraulics kickin' it from high rise to low rider! Bounce dat mudda down the 405!

o

Where I'm from you could get shot for trashing a 409.

o