Return to the Remodeling Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
normal process for choosing subcontractors?

Posted by phrog (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 22, 13 at 13:46

We have a contractor for our remodeling, but I'm new to this game.. Is he supposed to choose the subcontractors, or give us choices, or let us find them?

This came up because he chose a furnace installer who turned out to be totally unresponsive to our requests for info. Now the contractor wants to use another he knows. In both cases, they're unknown to me.

I thought it would be good to use a recognizable plumbing & heating company that's been recommended on our community message board.

The contractor says the smaller guys will be cheaper and he has never had problems with them before. But I don't know -- maybe he owes them a favor, or has some other reason for choosing them?

Should we just say, "We'd like you to get an estimate from Company X"? Or get the estimate ourselves? I don't know what the standard protocol is. Are we collaborating with him or are we expected to trust these decisions to him?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: normal process for choosing subcontractors?