Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caview

Hinged French Door vs. Sliders

caview
16 years ago

Would greatly appreciate your chiming in and helping us to make the decision on what kind of patio doors to choose!

We love the look of the hinged french doors but are concerned with the ease of operation (these doors will be frequently used to go into the back yard) and the reliability of the retractable screen doors!

Can you please your thoughts and experience?

Thank you!

Tanya

Comments (14)

• ron6519
    16 years ago

It will be as easy to operate as the front door of your house. I don't know why you're associating hinged doors with retractable screens as if there are no other options. I put in double hinged French doors by Andersen. They have double hinged screens.
    The usual issue with French doors is the space they take up in operating. If that's not a problem, the choice is purely personal.
    As a contractor I've put in dozens of sliders. I never liked them. When I put the kitchen addition on, I designed the space so hinged doors would not be an issue.
    Just a personal observation.
    Ron

• caview
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Ron,
    I am so thankful to you for the information!

We are going with Anderson and I had no idea the option of double hinged screens exists!

It sounds so much better than retractable!

I'll try to find a picture on how they look...

Much appreciated!
    Tanya

• decker173
    16 years ago

@ron6519,
    I assume that the screens pivot the opposite direction of the doors. Can see how they would go the same way. Is that correct?

• ron6519
    16 years ago

The french doors open in and the screens open out, just like a regular door setup.
    Ron

• annzgw
    16 years ago