Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mkmom123

Is this bathroom remodel expensive?

mkmom123
12 years ago

Hello! I have a master bathroom that I'd like to redo, and want some opinions on whether this is "doable" (..not too complicated or expensive).

Currently, the layout from left to right is: enclosed shower (with tiled walls and floor), next to DH's sink on the left of the tub. Large triangle shaped tub is in the corner, with my sink and vanity space on the right side. The toilet is in a separate room on the wall adjacent to my sink.

I'd like to:

Move the toilet room to where the enclosed shower is. Replace DH's sink with a built in shelves. Replace the triangle tub with a large walk-in shower in the corner of our bathroom. Replace my sink/vanity area with a double sink unit. Close up the wall to the existing toilet, so I can expand Dh's closet which is behind that wall.

Does this sound complicated? We've never done a remodel project before, and of course, we would hire somebody to do it, but don't want to start down that path if we're just being crazy..! Thank you!

Comments (9)

• kirkhall
    12 years ago

Define too expensive... And what is under the floor? (joists, slab, etc)? And, if joists, is there another floor under (second story)? And, if joists, which direction do they run (will the movement of the toilet drain be within the joint spaces, or have to go through them)?

• GreenDesigns
    12 years ago

No DIY ability? Moving every single fixture around? That takes an average 15K middle of the road bathroom remodel and adds a minimum 10K to it. If you're on slab, it might add 20K to it by the time you're done. You want upper end products? You've just spend 50K.

• Rhdrywall1970
    12 years ago

You can probably get this job done under $10,000 -- but you will have to wheel and deal.

Here is a link that might be useful: Drywall Contractor

• sierraeast
    12 years ago