Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ae2ga_gw

buying my own 'stuff'

ae2ga
13 years ago

I've been reading this forum for the last few days and spent time with a number of threads about what to do, what not to do, and what things will cause conflict with the general contractor. And it seems one of those potential conflict causing events is the homeowner purchasing or insisting upon certain items because it skews the GC's income.

I know I want particular things - stove, refrigerator, cabinets, bathtub, vanity, doors (I'm still learning about windows but I do know I want fiberglass and probably triple paned).

I had the idea that I would just purchase the things I want right before the remodel begins.

Is this a potential for conflict?

Comments (36)

• User
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Depends on the contract you have with the GC.

There are other factors than just messing with the GC's income.

Warrantees, installation issues, and quality issues can arise.

Many contractors have deals with suppliers/manufacturers and most have favorite materials they have found to be of good quality on a long term basis.

If you purchase the items, you have the warantee responsibility. And some companies see an out when the home owner buys the product. That opens a door for the warenteeing company to claim improper installation---which voids the warantee. There is also a size issue that often arises. The space for a stove/fridg/DW is built and the product is a different size. That means extra work for the contractor---who has to charge you more---which causes real problems in some cases.

The thing to do to prevent as many problems as possible is to pick out the products---the exact models/sizes/etc, not just a brand before the building starts.

The contractor can then check for installation procedures(which will probably be an added cost) and make sure the products are installed correctly.