Return to the Remodeling Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
External facelift

Posted by ckathynot (My Page) on
Sat, Jan 23, 10 at 20:21

Calling all you genius Photoshop friends....we just bought a house to fix as a rental. It is in dire need of an external facelift to bring it up to a 21st century look. I would be so appreciative if you Photoshop geniuses would give this a try. We will be turning that garage convertion back to a garage so you can put a garage door in there. The front screen door is open, in this picture. It actually sits flush on the side of the house not the very front. I'd love to also see some color recommendations. Thanks so much. You have no idea how much I appreciate this. Can you believe someone actually painted this turquois?

Kathy

Here is a link that might be useful: Rental House In Need of Facelift

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: External facelift

Well... I am not a photoshop expert but here are some ideas:

- I would stick to basic updated colors. I love Alexandria Beige (Benjamin Moore) for the exterior walls and clean white trim. If you had garage doors, they could be white too. A black roof, front door and light fixtures would look great with this combination, but I am not sure to what extent you are remodeling. You could also put a black urn planter on the porch. If you have to stay with the gray roof, then I would double check your color choice against the roof to make sure it looks good because you may need to select a more gray/beige color.

- Are you changing the porch? You could update the front pillar, so that it is larger. A white square pillar would be nice. If you are keeping the concrete, I think there is a product you can brush over it to make it look like stone (it might be called stone effects?). I have not tried it, but it may be a quick fix for older concrete.