Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annaw_123

DIY Laying Tile - Realistic?

annaw_123
9 years ago

We want to lay tile in the kitchen, living room hallway and bathroom of our new house. We're in Southwest where tile floors are very common.

We want to use the wood look tiles.

My DH and I are somewhat handy but have never laid tile before. How hard is it really? The size of the job intimidates me. I worry that it might take us a long time to complete and we have to live in the house with our pets and kids.

I think this job might be beyond us.

Any advice? Anyone tried tiling such a large surface yourself?

Comments (24)

• mag77
    9 years ago

Forget it. The risk of making a huge, expensive mess is just too great. I've been a carpenter/small contractor all my life and have watched many a tile job, so I have an advantage over most people. I started doing tile work for myself (not for clients) about ten years ago. It's not rocket science, but, let me tell you, it's not as easy as it looks, either. There are a lot of subtleties involved - layout is crucial, preparation is crucial, knowing when mortar is too thick, too thin or just right is crucial. Do a few small projects - a tile counter, a tile back splash, a little entry floor - before you tackle a big job, and the job you describe is a BIG job.

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    9 years ago

AnnaW:

Start out small in your bathroom and go from there. Read Michael Byrne's book on tile from Taunton Press. It isn't all that tough. Check out the link too:

Here is a link that might be useful: Leveling

• handymac
    9 years ago

The John Bridge forum a very helpful forum for tile installation, be you a professional, experienced DIYer or first time DIYer.

There are a LOT of experienced folks who like to help others. Free to join.

Google it, as Gardenweb will not allow the URL to be posted.

• funkycamper
    9 years ago