Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
moneypenny02_gw

questions re: skim coating & wall painting

moneypenny02
10 years ago

Hi all,
I have various paint questions--primarily with how to deal with painting over peeling, chipped or lead paint. We are moving into our first house and money is TIGHT, so we had planned to do this mostly ourselves, once we got a $7000 quote. So, we will at least try to figure this out ourselves, but if we do a horrible job in our first couple tries and we will have to get someone else to complete the work (probably bit by bit), I still want to understand what needs to be done so that I can be certain they are doing things correctly--because I have lived in homes where the "pros" did a really crappy job, and I DO NOT want that here. So, I am grateful for any guidance/insight. I am a definite newbie, and even though I have been reading forums and do it yourself articles and watching videos to try to answer these questions, I still don't understand a lot of the lingo, so if you can be as plain, specific and clear as possible, that would be great!

1) Shiny paint over multiple layers of paint, likely including lead paint.

The house was made in the 1930's, and the prior owners didn't do much work, so I am just assuming that there is at least one layer of lead paint on every wall (except for those that are solely covered by wallpaper). There is a top-layer of paint (among multi-layers) throughout the house that is not chipping or peeling--and may be recent enough to not be lead itself. It is a shiny paint of unknown origin and composition. The walls are also a bit "lumpy", so we were hoping to skim coat them before painting. The walls themselves appear to be plaster and lathe for the most part.