Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
btheis

What is your Budget ?

Bruce T
15 years ago

Hi Folks,

I confess, I just don't understand how the cost process of remodeling works. I'm an accountant by trade. When I need to purchase something for the business I call all the vendors involved and get firm quotes on each component needed to make the project work. However, whenever I call a contractor for a re-model project, the first question I get is "What is your budget" Hell, I don't know what the "budget" is until I get a cost breakdown on each component of the project. If I say $10,000 for a 225 sq. ft. Kitchen/Bath remodel, the answer is always "No, cant do it for that. I up it to $20,000 - Yea, that may work, low end materials though. $30,000? No problem - top of the line everything. Maybe this is just a vent on my part. But I would surely like to know how to relate to you contractors when it comes down to the money. What are your constants - 1/2 labor to 1/2 to materials? ect,ect.

Thanks to you all for your input.

Comments (41)

• Jon1270
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

When I need to purchase something for the business I call all the vendors involved and get firm quotes on each component needed to make the project work.