Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carmie2

LOOKING for: Beef Taco Recipe

carmie2
16 years ago

Wanted your best taco filling recipe using beef...Thank you!

Comments (7)

• lindac
    16 years ago

I just brown up a pound hamburger and break it apart and add taco seasoning to taste.
    Then I warm the flour tortillas in a pan with a little bit of oil and fill it with some of the meat and offer an assortment of chopped green onions, chopped tomato, shreded lettuce, salsa and grated cheese.
    Not much recipe to it.
    Linda C

• angelaid
    16 years ago

I simmer stew meat or sirloin in a little bit of water with taco seasoning until it falls apart. Shred and use as a filling for tacos, burritos or enchiladas.

• nanabelle
    16 years ago

I have been making Beef Tacos for about 50 years (was taught by a mexican) and really haven't varied how I do them. Instead of browning my ground beef, I now microwave it in a large bowl so I can pour out the fat. It takes about 4 times at 4 minutes to get to a browned state. I add 4 oz of diced green chiles after the first 4 minutes for each pound of beef that I cook. I will tell you the fried way, though.

Fry l pound of ground beef, about 15% fat for flavor
    stir in 4 oz can of diced green chiles into meat when you start to cook the meat so they give the meat flavor.

Heat vegetable oil in a small iron skillet to very hot and use tongs to place a corn tortilla into oil on one side. Let it sit for a few seconds and then flip it over, bending it softly at that time to make the shell and let the outside crisp up and turn it over for the other side to crisp. Remove and drain shell open side down on paper towels or brown paper bags to remove the excess oil. there is a right and wrong side to a tortilla and for the life of me I can't figure out which side, but I like the side that bubbles up and separates on the outside.