Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimc444

LOOKING for: What is your favorite quick dinner recipe?

kimc444
17 years ago

I have never posted on this forum of gardenweb before, but I had a crisis today and thought I would seek out some help! I am so tired of all of my recipes! I am a full-time graduate student and work part time so I don't have a whole lot of time to cook, but I like to have a healthy balanced meal on the table for us every night! I thought I would get some ideas on your favorite, somewhat quick recipe for dinner. Maybe that one you always resort to when you don't know what else to make? It may be boring to you, but it's probably new to us! So please...share with us... help add some variety to my meals! :)

Comments (23)

• fearlessem
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Kim --

When I really want something super quick and healthy, I have a super easy black bean soup recipe.

2 15 ounce cans of black beans
    1 15 ounce can of chicken broth
    1 cup salsa
    1 tsp cumin
    1 tsp chile powder
    1/2 tsp oregano
    Nice handful of chopped cilantro.

Combine all ingredients and cook for 10-15 minutes or so, mashing at least half the beans a little as it cooks. Garnish with a nice handful of grated cheddar cheese, and serve alongside rice or a piece of toast. Super yummy, low fat, lots of protein, fiber, and taste!

Happy eating...

Emily

• ruthanna_gw
    17 years ago

CAULIFLOWER-CHEDDAR CHOWDER

1 cup fresh cauliflower florets
    1 cup water
    1 package Knorrs Cream of Leek Soup
    3 cups milk (I use 1% fat)
    1 cup shredded cheddar cheese