Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jajan_gw

LOOKING for: Not to have a heart-attack

jajan
14 years ago

Recently, my special friend went to the doctor; the doctor told him he was about to have congestive heart failure, and next week he will do more tests. He told me that he has to be on a no sugar/no salt diet for high blood pressure control. I understand just not to put in the items when cooking, and not to buy prepackaged foods, and not to go out to dinner for awhile. Is there recipes for this kind of diet? For example, bread.

Comments (5)

• shambo
    14 years ago

There are several sources online with loads of information & recipes. Also, there are several online shopping sources for low sodium foods. I've been cooking super low sodium for the last four years, ever since my husband was diagnosed with congestive heart failure. A low sodium diet is really challenging but it's also an adventure, seeing just how creative you can be in delivering tasty, low salt meals.

I've also been writing a blog about my low sodium cooking adventures. If you follow the link below, you will find a list on the right hand side of the page with links to three really informative sites. I especially recommend "Low Sodium Cooking" and "Megaheart." Both sites offer lots of information, tips, sources, and recipes. Also you can sign up for the monthly newsletters that include even more recipes & info. And the authors of both those sites have written low salt cookbooks that are available for purchase either from their websites or Amazon.

In addition, I've got another list of places where you can purchase low salt products online. Again, I heartily recommend Healthy Heart Market, Heartwise, and Saltwatcher. I've ordered many, many products from these three vendors and have found some great products.