Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bamasue_gw

RECIPE: Anaheim Peppers

bamasue
17 years ago

Hi everyone! A newbie here and so happy to have found you! I am going to have a bumper crop of anaheims this summer and love chile rellenos, but hate the trouble of making them. I once had a loved and lost recipe for a chile relleno casserole that was divine and simple to put together. It did call for canned chiles, but the fresh ones I'll soon have will be better. Can anyone offer any help?

Comments (10)

• angelaid
    17 years ago

This is one of our favorite casseroles: Chili Relleno Puff

7oz can whole chiles, split
    8 oz. grated cheddar cheese
    6 eggs, slightly beaten (can use egg substitute)
    3/4 cup milk
    1 tblsp. all-purpose flour
    1 tsp. baking powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In greased 7 x 11" baking dish, layer split chiles and 1/2 cheese. Combine eggs, milk, flour, baking powder. mix well. Pour over chiles, top w/remaining cheese. Bake 30-40 minutes until puffed & browned.

• roselin32
    17 years ago

This is similar to Angelaid's but one I like to make:
    3 cans whole green chilies
    4c shredded cheddar cheese
    4 eggs
    2c milk
    1c flour
    1 tsp salt or to taste
    1 tsp peper
    1 T oil
    Rinse chilies and remove seeds. Place half in a buttered 2Qt baking dish. Sprinkle with 2c cheese.
    repeat layers.
    Combine oil, eggs and remaining ingredients and beat at med speed of mixer.
    Pour egg mix over chilies and cheese. Bake covered at 325° for 30 minutes. Remove cover and bake an additional 30-35 minutes.
    8 servings.
    RL`

• roselin32
    17 years ago

Here is a quick and easy one from Southern Living that will help you use up some of your peppers:
    Chiles-Rellenos Squares
    4c Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
    1 (4 oz)can chopped green chilies
    5 eggs beaten
    Layer cheese and chilies in a lightly greased 12x8x2" baking dish.