Return to the Recipe Exchange Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
RECIPE: Home Made Soft Pretels

Posted by lazypup (lazypup@yahoo.com) on
Mon, Jun 11, 07 at 0:35

Keep in mind that I am not a baker, in fact I am a retired Plumber but about a month ago I got a craving for a hot soft pretzel so I thought I would try my hand at making them. It may have begun as a silly idea but it went over so big here that when my wife went grocery shopping she brought back a big bag of flour and ten packs of yeast and gave me instructions to do it at least once a week now..LOL

This could be a fun recipe for the kids to help with.

Yield
6 large or 12 small pretzels.

Ingredients:
3-1/2cups all purpose flour
4Tbsp brown sugar
1 Package dried bakers yeast
1 cup warm water
sea salt
1 egg

Begin by activating the yeast. Put the package of dry yeast in a small bowl and add about 3tbsp of warm water and a bit of sugar. Let is set for about 20 minutes until if foams up.

Place 3-1/2cups of all purpose flour in a large mixing bowl and form a hollow depression in the flour.

Put one cup of hot water in a small bowl and add the brown sugar, stirring thoroughly then add the yeast and stir into the sugar water. Pour the brown sugar, water and yeast mix into the flour and stir until you have a sticky dough, then continue kneading the dough until you have worked all the flour in. (Knead about 5 minutes) then set the bowl in a warm place and cover with a towel to let the dough rise. When the dough has risen until it has nearly doubled in size lay out on a cutting board and roll into a long log about 3" in diameter and about 2' long. Cut the dough log into 6 equal pieces the long way, then take each piece and roll out until it is about the diameter of your finger and 2 to 3ft long.

Grab the two ends and cross them over so that they form and X with a loop over the top. Now grab the loop and fold it down over the X to get the final pretzel shape. Let the pretzels rise again for about 20 minutes.