Return to the Recipe Exchange Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
RECIPE: For Ginger! Whipping Cream Potatoes

Posted by geri_7 (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 27, 08 at 19:03

Here is a very rich and delicious potato side dish I have been making since 1979 when a friend shared her recipe!

WHIPPING CREAM POTATOES

Parboil 6 large potatoes until ALMOST soft. Peel and grate the cooked potatoes, 1 pound sharp cheddar cheese, and 1 medium onion. Layer potatoes, cheese and onion in a large baking pan. Lightly salt and pepper the layers. Whip 1 pint (2 cups) whipping cream and use it to frost the top of the potatoes. Bake at 350 degrees for one hour.
Delicious!

p.s. DO NOT sweeten the whipping cream, of course!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: RECIPE: For Ginger! Whipping Cream Potatoes

OMG! Thank you! My favorite food. One question though - what happens to the whipped cream on top? Does it melt down into the potato layers?

o

Yes, Ginger, it does! And the top of the dish just becomes a beautiful *bronzed* crispy....cheesy topping for a delicious creamy potato dish........a decadent favorite of all who have tasted it! ENJOY....Geri

o

Thanks so much!

o

Geri7.
Sounds super. Do you know how many lbs. of potatoes, best kind to use and size of baking dish?
TIA

o

Methinks that should be called "Ginger's Heaven"!! LOL

o

ysop1016.....

I usually use a casserole dish a little larger than 9x13. I have also used a pan that I just measured...it is about 11x15 and almost 2-inches deep. I have made this for so long that I don't really measure the ingredients. I have never weighed the potatoes but use a med large baking potato. I have always used Russet potatoes......living in Spokane....pretty close to potato heaven.

This dish is very forgiving. Choose the casserole dish you want to use and layer the cooked potatoes, cheese and onion to your liking and then frost with about an inch deep of whipped cream. You can adjust amount to serve fewer or a crowd.

Good luck, Geri

o

Thanks,Geri,